Ode to my CPU

Athlon 64, 1.8ghz, 3000+, 90nm

This is a picture of the CPU that has been in my desktop computer for the past 4 years. It is an AMD Athlon 64 3000+. One “Windsor” 90nm core running at 1.8 GHz, fitting on socket 939 with dual channel memory.

There’s no problem with it. It’s still working, and has always been dependable, running cooly even when I pushed it to 100% usage with distributed computing projects. But I’ve replaced it with an Athlon 64 X2 3600+ (2 cores running at 2 GHz). These are so cheap now, and I figured it would be a good way to do more data crunching inexpensively. I know that my computer will keep being used for a few years – if not by me, but my parents or someone else – so more than doubling the amount of scientific work it can do makes a difference.

I don’t get sentimental about objects. I don’t collect stuff. But holding that CPU in my hand made me realize how fantastic our technology is, and how many great things it allows us to do. Had I been born in a non-networked world without inexpensive computers, there is so much things I wouldn’t know, so many people I never would have connected with, so many books unread, so much music unheard. I wouldn’t have the job I have now, and you wouldn’t be reading this.

I certainly wouldn’t be the same person…

So this is my homage to my CPU.

Athlon 64, 1.8ghz, 3000+, 90nm

Leave a Reply

