My Defective Copy of Gödel, Escher, Bach

Godel, Escher, Bach (GEB)

Ten minutes ago, I was lying comfortably in bed, reading Gödel, Escher, Bach by Douglas R. Hofstadter. I turned a page and the text stopped making sense.

“Maybe it’s another one of his games,” I thought.

I looked at the page numbers and they went from 82 to 51.

“Clever! He’s doing a recursive motif to illustrate his point.”

But sadly, that wasn’t it. Pages from 51 to 82 are printed twice, and pages from 83 to 115 are missing. Argh. Such a brilliant book too… No choice but to go cold turkey.

Can’t wait for the replacement to arrive.

Update: I received another copy of the book and all the pages are there! Also in the same package: Angela Hewitt’s interpretation of Bach’s Well-Tempered Klavier and Pierre-Laurent Aimard’s recording of Bach’s Art of the Fugue.

2 Responses to “My Defective Copy of Gödel, Escher, Bach

  1. Chris K. Haley Says:

    My #1 favorite book of all time. I’ve read it 5 times, and it keeps getting better ever time!

  2. Jepsert Says:

    I’m reading that book too right now, and I love up till now. Math doesn’t quite come naturally to me, but it’s very interesting and well explained. I did freak out when he posed the Law of Gödel in the very first chapter. ^^

    I think your blog is very interesting; I’ll keep reading!

Leave a Reply

