Interview with Biogerontologist Aubrey de Grey

A few months ago I discovered Futures in Biotech, a podcast that “explores the world of genetics, cloning, protein folding, genome mapping, and more” by Marc Pelletier. The episode that first caught my attention was an interview with Dr. Vijay S. Pande of Folding@home. In fact, I might have found Futures in Biotech via a link on the Folding@home blog.

Anyway, I had a look at their archives and saw that they didn’t have anything about Aubrey de Grey or the Methuselah Foundation. I figured it would be a perfect fit and that their listeners would be interested by the SENS platform.

So I found Marc’s blog and I either emailed him or left a comment (can’t remember) suggesting that he interview Aubrey de Grey, and gave some links to check out.

Today, I returned to Futures in Biotech and was very happy to see that their latest episode is an interview with Aubrey de Grey! I haven’t listened to it yet, and I can’t be sure that it was my comment/email that was the seed from which this grew, but whatever the cause was, I’m quite happy that a few more people will be exposed to SENS.

Maybe some of the listeners of that show are biology students or research scientists and this will start a chain of events that will lead them to help healthy life-extension research directly or indirectly, or maybe some of the listeners will donate to the Methuselah Foundation. This can only help.

You can listen to the interview here.

Update: I’ve now listened to the interview and it’s quite good. Unfortunately, the sound quality for Aubrey’s side of the conversation isn’t very good and I missed some of what he said.

I encourage you to listen to the interview, but know that it is not the best introduction to the SENS platform. A better start would by this TED talk, and the most complete and detailed overview is Aubrey’s book.

One Response to “Interview with Biogerontologist Aubrey de Grey”

  1. Marc Pelletier Says:

    Indeed your suggestion triggered the interview! I had seen Dr. De Grey on TED and thought his ideas were interesting. I hesitated because he is not a bench scientist or engineer, but your request led me to believe that we should have him on anyway.

    Dr. de Grey said that he had a headset for skype, and didn’t. I would have gladely sent him one…

    Again, thanks for the suggestion and keep them coming!

Leave a Reply

